Open Accessibility Menu

Daisy Award

Nominate an exceptional nurse today

The DAISY (Diseases Attacking the Immune SYstem) Award is an international recognition program that honors and celebrates the skillful, compassionate care nurses provide every day. The DAISY Foundation was established by the family of J. Patrick Barnes after he died from complications of the auto-immune disease ITP in 1999. During his hospitalization, they deeply appreciated the care and compassion shown to Patrick and his entire family. When he died, they felt compelled to say “thank you” to nurses in a very public way. To learn more, visit

Please say thank you by sharing your story of how a nurse made a difference you will never forget!

Say thank you to your BCH nurse

To nominate an extraordinary nurse, please fill out this form below:


How did this award come about?

The DAISY Award was established in memory of J. Patrick Barnes, who died at the age of 33 in late 1999 from complications of the auto-immune disease Idiopathic Thrombocytopenia Purpura (ITP). (DAISY is an acronym for Diseases Attacking the Immune SYstem.) The exceptional care Patrick and his family received from nurses while he was ill inspired this unique memorial.

Today, with an international presence, the DAISY Foundation honors, recognizes and celebrates nursing professionals from more than 3,600 health care facilities in all 50 states and 21 other countries.

Who can nominate a nurse?

Anyone can submit a nomination—coworkers, physicians, patients, patient families, visitors, staff members and administrators—who experiences or observes extraordinary and compassionate care being provided by a deserving BCH nurse.

How do I nominate a nurse?

Nomination forms are available online and near ballot boxes found throughout BCH. One of the keys to this program’s impact is the stories of compassionate care it brings to light. The nomination form has room for a story exemplifying why you think this nurse should be considered for a DAISY Award.

How does BCH celebrate and recognize award winners?

Three DAISY award recipients are honored quarterly at “DAISY Day” ceremonies. They receive a framed certificate, a DAISY Award signature lapel pin and a stone sculpture from Zimbabwe, entitled "A Healer's Touch."

How are nurses chosen to receive The DAISY Award?

The prestigious DAISY Award is an ongoing program, given to three deserving nurses each quarter based on criteria established to meet BCH’s mission and values. BCH’s Nurse Practice Council (NPC), which sponsors the recognition program, selects award recipients.

Daisy Award Nomination Form